… This thing on?

Hello hello, this is just a brief intro because as we can all appreciate, first anything’s are a bit awkward… first kiss, first page in a diary, first job interview- wait no, that’s absolutely petrifying. Where was I going with this.

Hello! (See what I mean?)

This blog is for selfish reasons, I guess. A way for me to reflect and dote on me whilst I navigate what it is often described as “a thankless job;” motherhood. Like pretty much most mothers out there, I love this gig and wouldn’t trade it for the world. I really love my life and every tangible aspect of it, but just sometimes amongst the chaos that is trying to feed the family nutritious meals, carting the eldest off to kindy on time, vacuuming different rooms on rotation, or drowning under mountains of laundry, sometimes I get all millennial and all, “What about me? It isn’t fair…”

Haha. But you know what I mean? Like you know how good it feels when you’ve been wearing the same trackies and banana-stained tank top for the past week and you finally shower and wear a poppin’ dress and you’re like Damn, you were hiding under there? Or when the subtle whiffy aroma of your own unwashed hair finally starts offending your senses, so you scrub it down and it dries all gloriously fluffy and resplendent (for all of 5 mins before you hastily tie it up into a mumbun)?  That wondrous, clean, ahhhh feeling? That’s what I’m on the hunt for, but on a deeper level.

I get my 8 hours sleep, but sometimes it doesn’t feel like it’s enough. I get to eat my 3 (or 4, or 5…) square meals a day and occasionally get to drink my coffee and tea hot, but it’s not enough. I go on date nights and wear stupidly high heels that I can barely stand in, but it’s still not enough.

I know it IS enough, but human nature ensures we always crave more. At least, we think we do.

So. This blog is sort of a way for me to keep on top of my own vicious self; share with you all my silly self-indulgent antics and as I look back on it all, realise, “You got this. It’s all good. Great balancing, babe. Maybe a lil more effort into mopping the floors and it’s perfect.”

Ahhhhh…

giphy

via GIPHY

Leave a Reply

